And I lost a little of me that day…

A silent night, and gentle footsteps,

a friendly road, and warmth of company,

and through the darkness, and across the space,

came the blessed grace, the smile on your face,

and I lost a little of me that day…

.

A steady breeze, and shaking hands,

all we leave behind, ruffles in the sand,

among aloof trees, both know but no one says,

that on the narrow path, came fleeting touches,

and I lost a little of me that day…

.

Sounds of the forest, the breathing of trees,

songs of birds, and laughter of the leaves,

A world majestic, and life in all its grandeur,

and all I heard, only your sighs and hums,

and I lost a little of me that day…

.

But as was meant to, so had come to pass,

our shared path now splits, and we must part,

Stood there unmoved, yet you walked on yours,

my path I abandoned, to follow you to the very shores,

a heart now overwhelmed , but only pain could now outpour,

for you stopped me and went alone, to leave behind

a breathing corpse, its wordless moans.

And I lost what was left of me that day…

Gaurav Somwanshi

Leave a Reply

